Welcome to AMMSA.COM, the news archive website for our family of Indigenous news publications.

Some chiefs do meet with PM Harper, but many refuse


Windspeaker Staff







List of chiefs meeting with Prime Minister Harper:

AFN National Chief Shawn Atleo;
Nova Scotia and Newfoundland: Terry Paul, Deborah Robinson;
New Brunswick: Roger Augustine, George Ginnish;
Québec: Ghislain Picard, Matthew Coon Come;
Saskatchewan: Leo Omani, Norma Johnston, Marcel Head;
British Columbia: Jody Wilson-Raybould, Ed John, Doug White; Yukon: Mike Smith; Eric Fairclough;
Alberta: Charles Weaselhead, Ronald Twinn, Craig Mckinaw;
Sasha Maracle, National Youth Council; Elder Bertha Commonda

All the Chiefs from Ontario, Northwest Territories and Manitoba refused to attend. Many others, including AFN Regional Chief Perry Bellegarde and Chief Wallace Fox from Saskatchewan also have refused to attend the meeting. Grand Chief Mervin Yellowbird has also refused to attend.

Mathew Coon Come and other Quebec Chiefs have stated their support for AFN National Chief Shawn Atleo and his willingness to go ahead with today's scheduled meeting with the Prime Minister. They have also received support from BC Chiefs.


There were efforts to try and change the agenda and secure the attendance for the entire meeting for both the Prime Minister and Governor General. The Prime Minister's Office refused any changes to the agenda and schedule.


Photos by Jason Ransom provided by PMO