Welcome to AMMSA.COM, the news archive website for our family of Indigenous news publications.

MPs include honouring treaties as part of their oath

Article Origin


Compiled by Shari Narine







Two Saskatchewan MPs were among four to recognize in their Oath of Allegiance in Parliament the treaties signed with Indigenous nations. After giving the oath outlined in the Constitution, MPs Georgina Jolibois (DesnethÈ—Missinippi—Churchill River)†and Niki Ashton (Churchill) pledged the following oath: “And, I solemnly affirm that, in the carrying out of my duties, I shall honour and respect the treaties signed with Indigenous Peoples.” Also doing the same were MPs Pierre Nantel (Longueuil—Saint-Hubert) and Romeo Saganash (Abitibi—Baie-James—Nunavik—Eeyou). The four MPs were inspired by the 94th recommendation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, which proposed that the Oath of Canadian Citizenship be modified to include recognition of the treaties with Indigenous peoples.