Welcome to AMMSA.COM, the news archive website for our family of Indigenous news publications.

Indspire Awards for 2013


Compiled by Debora Steel







Indspire (Formerly the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation) announced the 2013 recipients of the Indspire Awards (formerly the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards). Making the list in the Education category is the Assembly of First Nations National Chief Shawn A-in-chut Atleo. There are 10 career achievement award recipients and three youth award winners, one each from the Inuit, First Nations and Metis communities. There is also one lifetime achievement award recipient. “Each and every one of our award recipients is a role model and a leader who has made a profound impact in their communities and across Canada,” said Roberta Jamieson, president and CEO of Indspire. “By honouring their achievements, we continue to inspire others to demonstrate their own potential, which is why the work we do at Indspire with First Nation, Inuit and Métis students is so essential.” The award-recipients are Jacqueline Guest, Alberta (Arts); Charlie Evalik, Nunavut (Business & Commerce); Winston Wuttunee, Saskatchewan (Culture, Heritage & Spirituality); Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, British Columbia (Education); Lloyd (Sonny) Flett, Alberta  (Environment & Natural Resources); Ruby Jacobs, Ontario (Health); Viola Robinson, Nova Scotia (Law & Justice); Duane Smith, Northwest Territories (Politics); Gail Cyr, Manitoba (Public Service); Theoren Fleury, Manitoba (Sports); Graham Kotowich, Saskatchewan (Métis Youth Award); Gabrielle Scrimshaw, Saskatchewan (First Nation Youth Award); Elizabeth Zarpa, Newfoundland and Labrador (Inuit Youth Award); and Alex Van Bibber, Yukon (Lifetime Achievement Award). A special Indspire Awards gala event on Feb. 15, 2013 will be held at the Sid Buckwold Theatre in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.