Welcome to AMMSA.COM, the news archive website for our family of Indigenous news publications.

Announcement of Candidates for the Office of National Chief


Windspeaker Staff, Ottawa, ON







Assembly of First Nations Election 2012 Announcement of Candidates for the Office of National Chief

The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, responsible for the July election of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) National Chief, has received nomination papers in proper form from the following persons, listed below in alphabetical order:

1. Mr. Shawn Atleo
2. Mr. Bill Erasmus
3. Ms. Elaine Gabriel
4. Ms. Joan Jack
5. Ms. Diane M. Kelly
6. Mr. Terrance Nelson
7. Ms. Pamela Palmater
8. Mr. George Stanley

According to the AFN Charter, an eligible candidate must:
* Be eighteen (18) years of age or older;
* Be of First Nation ancestry;
* Be a member of First Nation community, in good standing with the AFN; and,
* Have 15 eligible electors, First Nations Chiefs, endorse his/her candidacy.

The 2012 Election for the Office of AFN National Chief will take place July 18, 2012 during the AFN 33rd Annual General Assembly taking place at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre in Toronto, Ontario, July 17-19, 2012.

The AFN Charter article 22 states that the National Chief shall be elected by a majority of sixty (60) percent of the votes. There are 633 First Nation communities in Canada that are recognized as members of the Assembly of First Nations.

The Assembly of First Nations is the national organization representing First Nation citizens in Canada.